Half a croissant, on a plate, with a sign in front of it saying '50c'
h a l f b a k e r y
Number one on the no-fly list

idea: add, search, annotate, link, view, overview, recent, by name, random

meta: news, help, about, links, report a problem

account: browse anonymously, or get an account and write.

user:
pass:
register,


                             

Political opinion skin patches

Change political opinion by cutaneous mind-altering substances
  (+3)
(+3)
  [vote for,
against]

This idea is provoked by the one about a liberal time of the month, and will need some explanation.

Take a large sample of people and determine their political opinions through a questionnaire, then give them various substances, one by one, for a month, while isolating them from the news media. Then test their opinions again, against a control group. Eventually, it may be possible to find substances which shifts political opinion to the left or right. The precise nature of these substances might be amusing. Then, find a delivery method for the two most politically mind-altering substance and make everyone take a mixture of them in a constantly changing ratio in a forty-one or forty-three day cycle. The right-wing substance peaks at the end of the cycle and the left-wing one in the middle, or vice versa. The pills, injectable solution, inhaler, patch or suppository is colour-coded to shift between red and blue over that time. Or, maybe it could be packaged in capsules with pictures on them, gradually morphing between beans and angels or something.

nineteenthly, Jun 25 2013

Two brains to rule them all http://www.bbc.co.u...nment-arts-13661538
[4and20, Jun 25 2013]

[link]






       Didn't Stalin just use sharp blows to the head? [link]
4and20, Jun 25 2013
  

       This is why herbalists have never been permitted any real power.
MaxwellBuchanan, Jun 25 2013
  

       //Didn't Stalin just use sharp blows to the head?//   

       Ah, preferencing retroactive phrenology over the pharmaceutical approach. I approve.
Custardguts, Jun 25 2013
  

       //rid ourselves of whatever gene is responsible for the religious urge, the whole world would be a lot more liberal//   

       To a point, I suppose, but people tend to obfuscate religious tendencies with conservative morals, and similarly, rightist political leanings. These are more quirks with the strange bipolar US political atmosphere than human nature, I think.
Custardguts, Jun 25 2013
  

       Two parties in the US are there, because of the way the constitution is written. In France a third party can obtain real power, In the UK a similar but geographic thing happens.   

       A Rainbow of pills, not just off and on will be required.
popbottle, Jun 26 2013
  

       //Two parties in the US are there, because of the way the constitution is written.// That doesn't make it a conclusive depiction of the spectrum of human opinion.
Custardguts, Jun 26 2013
  

       To be cynical for a second, [MB], all we really need is one herb that works by making people more gullible.   

       Oh yes, purpose! The reason is to enable people to see each others' perspectives more easily. The length of the cycle is to maximise the chances of it being out of step with a twenty-eight day menstrual cycle, which i imagine also changes opinions for some people. I agree it probably is bad science and that there are many axes, but also "we should research". I'm actually wondering if one of them might turn out to be cocaine and the other THC.
nineteenthly, Jun 26 2013
  

       I don't have a political opinion.
xandram, Jun 26 2013
  

       People are out of phase, except in Australia of course.
nineteenthly, Jun 28 2013
  

       I think I would disagree with that. I have an opinion on, for example, abortion. It's my opinion. I hold that opinion independently of the positions of the various political parties.   

       Are you suggesting that, if it weren't for politics, I could have no opinion on abortion?
MaxwellBuchanan, Jun 28 2013
  

       Political parties are a branch of show business. Politics is entirely different.
nineteenthly, Jun 29 2013
  

       //THC - Cocaine//   

       Shouldn't that be heroin and LSD?
JesusHChrist, Jun 29 2013
  

       It might turn out to be something completely different, such as adrenalin for a fear-motivated ideology and oxytocin or MDMA for empathy.
nineteenthly, Jun 29 2013
  
      
[annotate]
  


 

back: main index

business  computer  culture  fashion  food  halfbakery  home  other  product  public  science  sport  vehicle