Half a croissant, on a plate, with a sign in front of it saying '50c'
h a l f b a k e r y
Nice swing,
no follow-through.

idea: add, search, annotate, link, view, overview, recent, by name, random

meta: news, help, about, links, report a problem

account: browse anonymously, or get an account and write.

user:
pass:
register,


                                     

Prevent accidental deletion of others' annotations

  (+4, -2)
(+4, -2)
  [vote for,
against]

Recently I've accidentally deleted two annotations on my ideas, one by [pocmloc] on my "Song-recognizing-and-canceling camera" idea and one by [MaxwellBuchanan] on my "Deliberate flare satellites" idea. This occurred because I saw the [delete] button, didn't look closely enough, mistook it for the [annotate] button, and clicked before I realized my mistake. My subconscious thought process was probably that it was a reply button because it was directly associated with the annotation I wanted to reply to, like how a reply button might be on other websites.

To avoid this happening (and I've heard of it happening to others on here too), I propose two possible solutions.

The first potential solution is a simple confirmation upon clicking [delete]. There's a confirmation page when you try to delete an idea (which I just confirmed to work fine), and I've heard there's a confirmation page when you try to delete your account (though I'm not about to see for myself), and this could work similarly.

The second potential solution is an option in the account settings to not have the [delete] button on others' annotations on one's own ideas. I don't think I've ever actually wanted to delete someone else's annotation on my own idea, so I wouldn't miss the button at all.

N/A [2019-04-08]

notexactly, Apr 09 2019

confirmation screen Prior suggestion by [pinkstar] (2001) [notexactly, Apr 28 2019]

_22Are You Sure_22 for anno deletion Prior suggestion by [Vernon] (2004) [notexactly, Apr 28 2019]

[link]






       [-] oh dear no : while most of the handful of my "accidental deletions" have been accidental deletions, there's a couple here and there where it was easier to write "oops, sry", rather than "lookit, you humongous twat..."
FlyingToaster, Apr 09 2019
  

       There could be a public campaign against changing any feature of the halfbakery, no matter how minor.
pocmloc, Apr 09 2019
  

       Bones? You want me to keep accidentally deleting annotations? Well, I shall defy your wishes by preventing my mistakes myself!
notexactly, Apr 09 2019
  

       Given that there's already an "Are you sure" for idea deletion, and given that anno deletion isn't something you do every minute, I see no harm in asking for confirmation before deletion.
MaxwellBuchanan, Apr 09 2019
  

       Everytime you delete an annotation a butterfly falls from the sky. How could you?
xenzag, Apr 09 2019
  

       Same thing happens every time you write one...
RayfordSteele, Apr 09 2019
  

       //"accidental deletions"//   

       In emoji land do they have 2 fingered animated emojis for those quotes ?   

       //There's a confirmation page //   

       "Click on all the rectangles with a croissant in them."
bigsleep, Apr 09 2019
  

       Maybe you just aren't ready for the Halfbakery yet. Hahahahahaha
blissmiss, Apr 10 2019
  

       I've done this before [notexactly]. It sucks but when it happens you can back-page and the deleted annotation is still on that page to be copy/pasted back on your posting.   

       It's a bit messy... but at least the delete can sort of be undone.   

       {I hereby consent to deletion of this annotation for the preservation of deleted ideas everywhere}   

       I tried that both times it happened recently, and my browser was smart enough to show the current version of the page rather than the old version when I used the back button (i.e. smarter than I wanted it to be). At least the more recent of those two instances was in Firefox, so maybe when I switch back to Chrome (hopefully soon) I can use that trick successfully.
notexactly, Apr 10 2019
  

       hmmm, I'm using Firefox as well. Curriouser and curriouser.
My last accidental deletion was three days ago.
  

       Hello, my name is pocmloc and although I haven't accidentally deleted an anno recently I know that I am dangerously close to relapsing. It's very helpful to be here with you all, listening to your stories.
pocmloc, Apr 10 2019
  

       Stay strong. We just have to take these things one anno at a time.   

       The annotate button is the separate one so just breathe and learn the 12 steps. It may take a few more relapses but in time, like [blissmiss] indicated, you will be ready. If in trouble [pocmloc] can sponsor.
wjt, Apr 11 2019
  

       Naah, the annotatees knew the risks..
not_morrison_rm, Apr 28 2019
  

       My simple solution to this is to avoid reading my own ideas.
tatterdemalion, May 01 2019
  
      
[annotate]
  


 

back: main index

business  computer  culture  fashion  food  halfbakery  home  other  product  public  science  sport  vehicle