Half a croissant, on a plate, with a sign in front of it saying '50c'
h a l f b a k e r y
You want a piece of this?

idea: add, search, annotate, link, view, overview, recent, by name, random

meta: news, help, about, links, report a problem

account: browse anonymously, or get an account and write.

user:
pass:
register,


                 

Dual purpose inspection pit and emergency shelter

Emergency shelter and inspection pit combination
  (+4)
(+4)
  [vote for,
against]

If you don't have a basement to escape to for bad weather emergencies, consider creating an automobile inspection/grease pit in your garage, if you have a garage. Keep the grease pit covered when not being used to prevent people and animals from falling in it. With higher level modifications and disguise techniques the grease pit could be also used as an indoor bomb shelter or safe room, and of course it can be used to service your vehicle.
Sunstone, Jan 31 2009

Inspection pit http://www.cdxetext...s/inspectionpit.jpg
Grease pit [Sunstone, Jan 31 2009]

Safe room http://www.google.c...&btnG=Google+Search
Bomb shelter [Sunstone, Jan 31 2009]

[link]






       Seems like a good idea, though I think getting greasy in the middle of a calamity only adds insult to injury.
sninctown, Jan 31 2009
  

       I like the idea of a better garage and applaud efforts to justify one, but having a car fall on you in the middle of a hurricane would put a crimp in your style somewhat; I wouldn't have the grease-pit as the main access point.
FlyingToaster, Jan 31 2009
  

       I think I'd sooner not be bombed at all.
MaxwellBuchanan, Jan 31 2009
  

       I had a similar idea for my place but was dissuaded by suggestions that the service pit or grease pit is not-to-code because of safety and environmental considerations. My approach to undervehicle access, then, is an elevated parking platform.   

       The idea of the e-refuge 'pillbox' is good. You could combine the e-box with some other functionality such as protecting the core plumbing in your house from freeze or other damage. & then you'd have water instead of... grease
afinehowdoyoudo, Jan 31 2009
  

       My 'dream home' includes both a garage service-pit and an under-garage room, but I've variously envisioned the "lower garage" as a workout room, cold-room, storage or stormwater tanks... now I gotta add the idea of an emergency bolt-hole/"saferoom" to the list. The thing is if you're going to put a structurally intact room under the garage especially one with a big hole in the ceiling, then why not build a basement, it'd be easier. [+] for the brain-stretch though.
FlyingToaster, Feb 01 2009
  

       I tried to dig one of these when I was a kid in my father's garage!
Aristotle, Feb 01 2009
  
      
[annotate]
  


 

back: main index

business  computer  culture  fashion  food  halfbakery  home  other  product  public  science  sport  vehicle